Login with your Reed credentials to view all events.

Reedie Physicians Virtual Panels hosted by the Reed Career Alliance

Thursday, September 30, 2021 5:00pm to 6:30pm

+ 1 dates

  • Tuesday, October 12, 2021 5:00pm to 6:30pm
Add to calendar

The Reed Career Alliance (RCA) invites you to a virtual event series with alumni panelists to learn more about Reedie physicians' experiences from Reed to medical school, residency, fellowship, first medical jobs, and established careers. The RCA presents two virtual panels featuring Reedies working in a variety of fields with their medical degrees.​​

Reedie Physicians Panel #1: From Reed Through Fellowship

Thursday, September 30, 2021, 5–6:30 p.m. PDT/8–9:30 p.m. EDT

The road to becoming a practicing physician is long and complicated. Join moderator Jon Bates ’67 and panelists Olivier Ezell ’16, Thomas Hoang ’18, Friederike Keating ’85, Emily Lane ’15, and Duncan Ramsey ’04 as they demystify the process. Applying and getting into medical school is the start of a 6–10 year educational journey. Hear from alumni about their experience in medical school, how they chose their specialty and residency, who pursued a fellowship, what the cost of this career is both financially and interpersonally, and how they landed their first job. 

REGISTER HERE TO ATTEND PANEL #1 

Reedie Physicians Panel #2: Beyond Your First Job

Tuesday, October 12, 2021, 5–6:30 p.m. PDT/8–9:30 p.m. EDT

Congrats! You’re a practicing physician. Now what? Join moderator/panelist Jon Bates ’67 and panelists Catherine Dalton ’98Brian Martin ’81Jane van Dis ’92, and other alumni physicians as they discuss opportunities and career paths as they advance in their career.

REGISTER HERE TO ATTEND PANEL #2

Start time:
5:00 p.m. Pacific
6:00 p.m. Mountain
7:00 p.m. Central
8:00 p.m. Eastern

The Reedie Physicians panels are the fifth and sixth installments of the ongoing Career Pathways panel series hosted by the Reed Career Alliance committee of the Alumni Board exploring different career pathways taken by Reedies in a similar field of work. Past panels are available to watch at any time on alumni.reed.edu.

Panelist Bios are coming soon!

Event Details