Login with your Reed credentials to view all events.

Bonnie Bronson Award Reception: Honoring Wendy Red Star

Saturday, May 18, 2024 5pm to 6:30pm

3017 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199

View map

Please join us for an award event and divine refreshments to honor internationally esteemed artist Wendy Red Star, a member of the Apsáalooke (Crow) Nation, as the 2024 Bonnie Bronson Fellow.

The Bonnie Bronson Fellowship is an annual award presented to an exemplary artist living and working in the Pacific Northwest. The Fund was created by the family and friends of Bonnie Bronson, an Oregon artist who tragically died in a climbing accident in 1990. Alongside her husband sculptor Lee Kelly (Reed’s campus has two outdoor sculptures by Kelly), Bonnie Bronson was a powerful force in the Pacific Northwest art world during her lifetime. She worked in mediums including: enamel on steel sculpture; welded and painted steel collage; cardboard; and painted carpet.

The Bronson Fellow receives a cash award of $10,000, and their work is purchased for the Bonnie Bronson Collection, which is displayed throughout the Reed College campus. The Bronson Collection is stewarded by the Cooley Gallery, and is on long-term loan to Reed College. Artists do not apply for the award. Each new Fellow is informed by a surprise phone call from Bronson Chair Nan Curtis.

Wendy Red Star was born in 1981 in Billings, Montana on the Apsáalooke (Crow) reservation. She has lived in Portland, Oregon since 2006. Red Star’s two and three-dimensional works incorporate mediums including: photography, sculpture, fiber arts, video, and performance. Red Star has created large bodies of work exploring her cultural heritage, and particularly the role of Native women in Apsáalooke culture. Red Star credits her visionary patterns and material skill to her in Crow culture. Coming from a family of artists (a rock musician father and a traditional Apsáalooke regalia-maker grandmother), In 2018, Red Star told the National Endowment for the Arts (No. 1, 2018) that despite growing up in an economically poor reservation, “Culturally, I grew up very rich.”

Red Star joins a remarkable group of fellowship winners, listed here chronologically from the first award in 1992: Christine Bourdette, Judy Cooke, Ronna Neuenschwander, Fernanda D’Agostino, Carolyn King, Lucinda Parker, Judy Hill, Adriene Cruz, Helen Lessick, Ann Hughes, Malia Jensen, Christopher Rauschenberg, Kristy Edmunds, Paul Sitinen, Bill Will, Laura Ross-Paul, M.E. Guth, Marie Watt, David Eckard, Nan Curtis, Pat Boas, Wynne Greenwood, Vanessa Redwick, Cynthia Lahti, Lynne Woods Turner, Susie Lee, Kristan Kennedy, Tannaz Farsi, Natalie Ball, Ed Bereal, Dawn Cerny and Samantha Wall (co-winners in 2022), and Dana Lynn Louis.

Free and open to the public. Remarks at 5:30 p.m. Closest parking is the west lot, off SE 28th Avenue near the Performing Arts Building.


Event Details